TurtlePhoton Logo


Awards & Honors

Victor Korenman, Professor Emeritus, was awarded the UMD President’s Medal on October 16, 2007.This award, the highest honor the university community can bestow, is presented annually to a member of the community who has an exemplary record of sustained and acknowledged contributions to the quality of life on campus.

Alessandra Buonanno
, Associate Professor, was awarded the Ferrell Distinguished Fellowship. This award recognizes outstanding personal effort and expertise in physics and dedicated service to the UMD Physics Department. Click here for a picture of the presentation.

Kara Hoffman, Assistant Professor, was selected by the CMPS Board of Visitors as the first winner of the new, annual, CMPS Board of Visitors Assistant Professor Award.

Steve Rolston, Professor and Associate Chair, was elected Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA). He was recognized for his contribution to the development of atomic quantum optics, including pioneering studies of atoms in optical lattices.

Professor Emeritus and Senior Research Scientist, Alexander Dragt, was recently elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Each year, the Council elects members whose "efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished." Dr. Dragt, was honored for his pioneering work on Lie-algebraic methods for nonlinear dynamics with applications to accelerator physics and charged-particle and light optics.


In the News

Ted Jacobson, Professor, Chris Eling, Physics Graduate Student, and Cole Miller, UMD Associate Professor of Astronomy, had their work highlighted on physorg.com. The article, entitled "New-School
' Aether' May Shed Light on Neutron Stars, can be viewed at:

Sylvester James Gates, Professor, appeared on the PBS' "Wired Science" program on October 24, 2007. For more information, visit: http://wwww.pbs.org/kcet/wiredscience/


The paper, " A multi-block infrastructure for three-dimensional time-dependent numerical relativity" by Manuel Tiglio, among others, has been selected by the Editorial Board of Classical and Quantum Gravity as one of the highlights of 2006-2007. Tiglio will join the faculty in 2008 with a joint appointment in Physics and the Center for Scientific Computation and Mathematical Modeling (CSCAMM).

Chris Monroe, Professor, wrote an article that appeared in Nature. To view the article, visit: http://www.iontrap.umd.edu/

Robert Park, Professor, appeared in an article entitled Solar Miracle. To read the article, click here.


Contact Us | ©2007