TurtlePhoton Logo


Awards & Honors

US News & World Rankings
Physics- 13
Atomic/Molecular/Optical - 5
Condensed Matter - 13
Elementary Particles/Field/ String Theory - 13
Nuclear Physics - 10
Plasma Physics - 2
Quantum Physics - 9

The American Association of Physics Teachers awarded a very special AAPT Presidential Citation award to the University of Maryland on January 22 in recognition of exemplary efforts in teacher education research at the College of Education, in physics and across the University. The award was presented by Harvey Leff, AAPT President.

Ellen Williams,
Professor, was appointed to the Congressional Commission on U.S. Strategic Posture.

Steve Anlage,
Professor, has been selected as a semifinalist in the National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship Program for his project entitled, "Basic Research on Defeating Speed of lIght Threats." Nominations were solicited from all U.S. accredited, degree-granting educational institutions.

Ashley Lianne King,
Student, was the 2008 recipient of the J. Robert Dorfman Prize for Outstanding Undergraduate Research.

Martin V. Moody
, Senior Research Scientist, and Ho Jung Paik, Professor, developed the technology for "Circuitry for Combined Sensing and Tuning in a Cross-Component Superconducting Gravity Gradiometer" and "Circuitry for Broad Splitting of the Resonant Modes in a Cross-Component Superconducting Gravity Gradiometer," which were both issued a U.S. Patent on 12/11/2007.

Patrick O'Shea, Affiliate Professor and ECE Chair, was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Raj Roy, Professor, has accepted a second term as the Director of the Institute for Physical Science and Technology.

Daniel Lathrop, Professor, and Raj Roy, Professor, were contributors to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Al Gore. The Nobel citation for the IPCC praises two decades of scientific reports that have created an ever-broader informed consensus about the connection between human activities and global warming

blue line

In the News

Bob Park, Professor, was quoted in intermediar, a Dutch magazine, in March.

Roald Sagdeev
, Professor, was mentioned in the February edition of Popular Science regarding the AAAS' celebration of 50-years in Space. Sagdeev served on a panel of distinguished scientists who have played a significant role in space science.

William Dorland, Professor, was one of thirteen authors who produced a report for the American Association for the Advancement of Science on nuclear forensics, and was mentioned in an article at eurekalreart.com.

Additionally, his proposal "Fluctuations Spectra and Anomalous Heating in Magnetized Plasma Turbulence" won a 2008 Department of Energy Innovative and Novel Computational Impact on Theory and Experiment (INCTIE) award for 4M hours of computer time on turbulence calculations.

James Gates, Professor, was featured in the February 26 issue of the Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel.


Contact Us | ©2007