Richard E. Prange Prize and Lectureship

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (MIT), 2023

Charles Kane (University of Pennsylvania), 2020

Juan Maldacena (IAS, Princeton), 2018

Frank Wilczek (MIT), 2016

Klaus von Klitzing (Max Planck Institute, Germany), 2014

David Gross (KITP, UCSB), 2013

Andre Geim (Manchester), 2012

Daniel Tsui
(Princeton), 2011

Walter Kohn
(UCSB), 2010

Philip Anderson
(Princeton), 2009
The University of Maryland Department of Physics and Condensed Matter Theory Center announce the establishment of the Richard E. Prange Prize and Lectureship in Condensed Matter Theory and Related Areas. The Prange Prize honors Professor Prange, whose distinguished career at Maryland spanned four decades (1961-2008). He died on September 24, 2008, at age 76.

The prize was made possible by the generosity of Dr. Prange's wife, Dr. Madeleine Joullie of the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Richard Prange did his graduate studies at the University of Chicago, where he worked with Nobelist Yoichiro Nambu, among others. He accepted a position at the University of Maryland in 1961.

Until his retirement in 2000, he played a vital role in the life of the Physics department. He led a substantial reform of its undergraduate major program and served energetic and innovative terms as chair of crucial departmental entities, including the Salary, Priorities, and Appointment, Promotion and Tenure committees. His was an important and highly-respected voice in all departmental deliberations.

Dr. Prange was the editor of a well-known book on the Quantum Hall Effect, but his interests reached well beyond condensed matter, into every substantive aspect of theoretical physics, including some pioneering work on quantum chaos. He was at complete ease discussing subjects as disparate as ferromagnetism and the cosmological constant. His interests also included history and travel. Professor Prange was a member of the Maryland condensed matter theory group for more than 40 years and was an affiliate of CMTC since its inception in 2002.