University of Maryland

Seminars & Informal Talks - Spring 2009

Nuclear Physics Spring Semester Seminars (PHYS 749) are scheduled for 1:00 PM in Room 1402 on the first floor of the Physics Building (Campus Map; Parking ) Changes to time/room are noted in the listing below.

Organizers: ENP--Dr. Elizabeth (Betsy) Beise, 301-405-6109
                  TQHN-- Dr. Brian Tiburzi, 301-405-6125

Seminars marked with an asterisk (*) are coordinated with George Washington University Physics Department whose seminars are held on Tuesdays at 4:00, Room 101 Corcoran Hall . Click here to see their schedule.


Jan. 26 (Mon.) - Classes Start at University of Maryland

Jan. 28 (Wed.)
* Michael Birse - Manchester University, UK
Deconstructing Nucleon-Nucleon Scattering

Feb. 4 (Wed.)
* William Michael Snow - Indiana University, Bloomington
A More Sensitive Search for Neutron-Antineutron Oscillations

Feb. 11 (Wed.)     
* Ruth Van de Water - Brookhaven National Lab, NY
The B -> pi 1 nu Form Factor and |Vub| from Three-Flavor Lattice QCD

Feb. 18 (Wed.)     
Simon Slutsky
Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay Search with the Enriched Xenon Observatory

Feb. 25 (Wed.)     
G. Todd Springer - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Hydrodynamics and Gauge/Gravity Duality

Mar. 4 (Wed.)     
To be scheduled.

Mar. 11 (Wed.)     
David B. Kaplan - Inst. for Nuclear Theory, University of Washington
Nuclear Effective Field Theory with Perturbative Pions

Mar. 16-20 (Mon.-Fri)  Spring Break Week

Mar. 25 (Wed.)     
* Peter Winter - U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
In a Muon's Lifetime: From Fermi's Constant to "Calibrating" the Sun

Apr. 1 (Wed.)     
Yingchuan Li - University of Wisconsin, Madison
Baryogenesis at Electroweak Scale and Electric Dipole Moments in MSSM

Apr. 8 (Wed.)     
CANCELLED
* Werner Tornow - TUNL, Duke University, Durham, NC
Topic on neutrino-less double beta decay

Apr. 15 (Wed.)     
Bo-Wen Xiao - Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, CA
Various Topics in AdS/CFT

Apr. 22 (Wed.)     
Tao Qian - University of Pennsylvania
POSTPONED TO A LATER DATE TO BE ARRANGED

Apr. 27 (Mon.), 4:00, Room to be announced.      Note Special Day/Time/Room
Matthias Burkardt - New Mexico State University
Transverse (Spin) Structure of Hadrons

Apr. 29 (Wed.)     
* Kazutaka Nakahara - KEK High Energy Accelerator Research Org., Japan & University of Maryland
The J-PARC/MSL and the Development of the Super-Omega Muon Beamline

May 6 (Wed.)     
Herbert Neuberger - Rutgers State University of New Jersey, Piscataway
Large N Phase Transitions Under Scaling

May 12 (Wed.) Last Day of Classes at University of Maryland

May 21 (Thurs. Evening) Main University of Maryland Commencement - Comcast Center

May 22 (Fri.) College Commencement Ceremonies

May 27 (Wed.)     
* Renato Higa - Universitaet Bonn, Germany
Nuclear Clusters in Halo EFT


Back to the TQHN group home page.

Last updated on 1 May 2009

Please send any comments to:

robinet@physics.umd.edu