U\
niversity of Maryland

Seminars & Informal Talks - Spring 2008

ENP-TQHN Spring Semester Seminars (PHYS 748-749) are scheduled for
3:30 PM (Note schedule change!) in Room 1201 on the first floor of the Physics Building
(changes to time/room are noted in the listing below) (Campus Map; Parking )

Organizers: ENP--Dr. Elizabeth (Betsy) Beise, 301-405-6109
                  TQHN-- Dr. Brian Tiburzi, 301-405-6125


Jan. 30 (Wed.)
No seminar scheduled.

Feb. 6 (Wed.)
To be scheduled.

Feb. 13 (Wed.)     
Andrei Alexandru -George Washington University, Washington DC
Finite Density Simulations Using a Canonical Approach

Feb. 22 (Fri.)- 2:30 - Rm. 2113      Note different Day, Time and Room!
Cedric Lorce - Univ. de Liege, Belgium
Baryon Light-Cone Wave Functions and Properties in Chiral Quark-Soliton Model

Feb. 27 (Wed.)     
Haipeng An - Univ. of Maryland
Neutron Electric Dipole Moment and the Left-Right Symmetric Model

Mar. 5 (Wed.)     
To be scheduled.

Mar. 14 (FRI.)   - 2:30 PM (Note New Date and Time!)
Joshua Erlich - College of William and Mary, Williamsburg VA
The Status of Holographic Models of QCD

Mar. 17-21 (Mon.-Fri)  Spring Break Week

Mar. 26 (Wed.)     
Tanja Horn - Jefferson National Lab, Newport News Va
The Transition from Long to Short-Distance Physics in Meson Electroproduction

Apr. 2 (Wed.)     
Michael Buchoff - University of Maryland
Effective Field Theory for Anisotropic Wilson Lattices

Apr. 9 (Wed.)     
Achim Schwenk - TRIUMF, Vancouver BC
Three-nucleon Interactions: A Frontier in Nuclear Structure

Apr. 16 (Wed.)     
William McDonough - Univ. of Maryland
Antineutrino Detection, Geoneutrinos and Heat Production in the Earth

Apr. 23 (Wed.)     
Anders Gardestig - University of South Carolina, Columbia
Precision Extraction of a_nn from pi- d > n n gamma Using ChPT

Apr. 30 (Wed.)     
Scott Bogner - NSCL, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Towards a Microscopic Density Functional Theory for Nuclei

May 6 (Tue.) - 2:00 - Rm. 2113      Note different Day, Time and Room!
Elizabeth Werbos - University of Maryland
An Effective Field Theory Approach to the Chiral Condensate in a Strong Electromagnetic Field

May 13 (Tue.) Last Day of Class

May 14 (Wed.)   Rm. 2113 Note different room!
Abhinav Nellore - Princeton University
Capturing QCD Thermodynamics in Gravity: A Bottom-up Approach

May 22 (Thurs. Evening) Main University of Maryland Commencement - Comcast Center

May 23 (Fri.) College Commencement Ceremonies


Back to the TQHN group home page.

Last updated on 24 Jan. 2008

Please send any comments to:

robinet@physics.umd.edu