University of Maryland

Seminars & Informal Talks - Spring 2004

Schedule for TQHN/ENP Semester Seminars: Wed. 4:00 PM, Rm. 3301 Physics Bldg.


Jan. 16 (Fri.) 11:00 am, Rm. 2113
Su Houng Lee (Yonsei University)
Pentaquark Baryons: Few Remarks on the Mass Relations and Decay Width

Jan. 23 (Mon.) 2:00 pm, Rm. 2113
John Laiho (Princeton University)
Prospects for an Improved Lattice Calculation of epsilon'/epsilon

Jan. 26 (Mon.) 12:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Michaela Oswald (Niels Bohr Inst.- Copenhagen DK)
Covariant Derivative Expansion of QCD Effective Action at High Temperatures

Jan. 26 (Mon.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Joydip Kundu (Massachusetts Inst. of Tech.)
Mass-induced Crystalline Color Superconductivity

Jan. 28 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Brian Tiburzi (University of Washington, Seattle)
Chiral Theories for Lattice QCD

Jan. 30 (Fri.) 12:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Ahmad Idilbi (University of Maryland)
Nucleon to Delta Transtion

Feb. 3 (Tues.) 11:00 am, Rm. 2113
Pavel Nadolsky (Southern Methodist University, Dallas)
Precise Factorization Methods for Hadron Colliders

Feb. 3 (Tues.) 2:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Achim Schwenk (The Ohio State University, Colombus)
Towards Density Functional Calculations from Nuclear Forces

Feb. 11 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Juinn-Wei Chen (National Taiwan University)
A lattice theory for low energy fermions at finite cehmical potential

Feb. 18 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Chung-Wen Kao (NCSU)
Nucleon Spin Forward Polarizabilities in Chiral Effective Theory

Feb. 25 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Ken Hicks (Ohio University)
Evidence for the Pentaquark: an Exotic Baryon

March 3 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Michael P. Praszalowicz (Brookhaven Nat'l. Lab)
Pentaquarks in the Chiral Models

March 10 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Marc Vanderhaeghen (Jefferson Lab and William & Mary)
Accessing Two-Photon Exchange Processes through Elastic Electron-Nucleon Scattering

March 19 (Wed.) 12:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Thomas D. Cohen (University of Maryland)
Modeling the Pentaquark

March 19 (Fri.) 3:30 pm, Rm. 2113
Daniel Dakin (University of Maryland)
Pion-Nucleon Scattering Relations in Large N_c QCD

March 24 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Yuji Koike (University of Niigata, Japan)
Clarifying the Origin of Single Spin Asymmetries in QCD

March 31 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Elizabeth Beise (University of Maryland)
Parity Violation and Hadron Structure

April 7 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
John Arrington (Argonne National Lab)
Proton Charge and Magnetism

April 14 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Allena K. Opper (The Ohio University, Athens and Jefferson Lab, Newport News)
Charge Symmetry Breaking--From Nuclei to Quarks

April 21 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Dr. Luis Orozco (University of Maryland)
Nuclear Structure and the Anapole Moment in Francium: Experiments and Proposals

April 28 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Dr. Antje Bruell (Jefferson Lab, Newort News)
Nuclear Effects in Deep-Inelastic Scattering

May 5 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Dr. Silas Beane (New Hampshire University)
Nucleons in a Box: A Method to Obtain Nucleon and Nuclear Properties from Lattice QCD

May 12 (Wed.) 4:00 pm, Rm. 3301
Dr. Adam Szczepaniak (Indiana University)
Progress in Coulomb Gauge QCD

May 25 (Tue.) 2:00 pm, Rm. 2113
Dr. Daniel Phillips (Ohio University)
Effective Field Theory for Nucleon Compton Scattering


Back to the TQHN group home page.

Created on May 23, 2002. Last updated on May 18, 2004 (LR).

Please send any comments to:

robinet@physics.umd.edu