University of Maryland

Seminars & Informal Talks - Fall 2011

Nuclear Physics Fall Semester Seminars (PHYS 748/749) are scheduled for 2:30 PM in Rm. 2202 on Second Floor of the Physics Building (Campus Interactive Map; Parking ) Changes to time/room are noted in the listing below.

Organizers: ENP--Carter Hall, 301-405-6103
                TQHN-- Ilmo Sung, 301-405-6119

Seminars marked with an asterisk (*) are coordinated with George Washington University Center for Nuclear Studies group whose seminars are held on Tuesdays at 4:00, Room 101 Corcoran Hall . Click here to see their schedule.


Aug. 31 (Wed.) - Classes Start at University of Maryland

Aug. 31 (Wed.)
No seminar scheduled.

Sep. 7 (Wed.)
Ethan Neil - Fermilab, Batavia IL
Lattice Strong Dynamics and Electroweak Symmetry Breaking

Sep. 14 (Wed.)
Yu Jia - IHEP, Chinese Acad. of Sciences, Beijing
Some Recent Progress in Understanding Heavy Quarkonia Electromagnetic Decays

Sep. 21 (Wed.)---PhD Candidacy Talk, Advisor: Prof. T. D. Cohen
Vojtech Krejcirik - Univ of Maryland TQHN Group
The Hagedorn Spectrum: Theory and Practice

Sep. 28 (Wed.)
* Thomas Luu - Lawrence Livermore Natl Lab, CA
Recent Nuclear Science Signals (with Noise) from Lattice QCD

Oct. 5 (Wed.)--Time Changed to 3:30!
* Joaquin Drut - Los Alamos National Lab, NM
Life on the Lattice: From QCD to Cold Atoms, Graphene and Beyond

Oct. 12 (Wed.)
Thomas Schaefer - North Carolina State Univ, Raleigh
Nearly Perfect Fluidity in Cold Atomic Gases

Oct. 19 (Wed.) 12:30 Lunch-time Talk (No formal seminar scheduled)
Yu Jia - IHEP, Chinese Acad. of Sciences, Beijing
Some Recent Progress in Understanding Heavy Quarkonia Electromagnetic Decays
(Continuation from Sept. 14)

Oct. 26 (Wed.) -- Joint Seminar with Particle Theory Group
Jesse Thaler - Massachusetts Inst of Technology, Cambridge
N-Subjettiness

Nov. 2 (Wed.)
* Bingwei Long - Jefferson Lab, Newport News VA
Correct Dr. Weinberg's Prescription --- Renormalization and Power Counting of Chiral Nuclear Forces

Nov. 9 (Wed.)
Kevin Dusling - North Carolina State Univ, Raleigh
Bulk Viscosity, Particle Spectra and Flow in Heavy-Ion Collisions

Nov. 16 (Wed.)
Clayton Davis- Univ of Maryland ENP Group
Double-beta Decay in Xenon 136

Nov. 23 (Wed.)
Open

Nov. 24-25 (Thur.-Fri.) Thanksgiving Break

Nov. 30 (Wed.)
Bjoern Schenke - Brookhaven National Lab, NY
Analyzing the Quark-Gluon Plasma with Higher Flow Harmonics

Dec. 7 (Wed.)
Andrei Alexandru - George Washington Univ, Washington DC
QCD Thermodynamics Using the Canonical Partition Function

Dec. 13 (Tue.) Last Day of Classes

Dec. 21 (Wed.) Main University of Maryland Winter Commencement

Dec. 22 (Fri.) College Commencement Ceremonies


Back to TQHN Home.

Last updated on 17 Oct 2011

Please send any comments to:

robinet@physics.umd.edu