Physics Home This page is no longer being maintained. Please visit the Physics Website at its new location:
{Insert Title Here}

Professor Min Ouyang receives the ONR Young Investigators Program Award and 2007 Beckman Young Investigators Award

Assistant Professor, Min Ouyang was recently awarded two prestigious honors: the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigators Award and the 2007 Beckman Young Investigators Award. These marks of distinction are bestowed on the most outstanding young faculty members in science.

The ONR Young Investigator Program honors outstanding new faculty members, at institutions of higher education, to support their research and encourage their teaching and research careers. Applicants are selected by ONR based on several criteria, including past performance, publications, professional activities and awards and honors.

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation provides grants for non-profit research institutions to promote research in chemistry and the life sciences, fostering new methods, instruments and materials that will open up new avenues of research in science. The Beckman Young Investigators (BYI) Program is intended to provide research support to the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences.

Dr. Ouyang is a dynamic scientist with a broad creative vision for new directions of research and teaching. He was hired in 2004 as the second hire of our nanotechnology initiative. His research emphasis integrates quantum computing, mesoscopic physics and magnetic semiconductors.


About Us
News & Events
Contact Us
Site Map
Physics Department, University of Maryland,College Park, MD 20742-4111
Phone: 301.405.3401 Fax: 301.314.9525
Copyright © 2003 University of Maryland